Best Cash Advance Apps in 2026: 9 Apps Compared
How we put this together: we compare official feature and pricing pages, app store listings, privacy policies and public user reviews. Prices change, so check the provider's site before you pay.
Key takeaways
- Advance limits vary a lot. EarnIn lists up to $200 per day and $1,000 per pay period, Albert lists $25 to $1,000, Dave and MoneyLion list up to $500, and FloatMe tops out at $200. Most apps warn that few people qualify for the top amount.
- Getting the money instantly usually costs extra. Chime MyPay charges 3% of the advance ($2 minimum, $5 maximum), EarnIn's Lightning Speed starts at $3.99, and Varo charges a flat fee of $1.60 to $100 per advance.
- Some apps charge a subscription instead. Dave lists up to $5 a month, FloatMe $6.99 a month and Brigit $8.99 to $15.99 a month.
- No credit check is the norm, but the apps still read your bank history, and some need a direct deposit or a new bank account.
- A small fee on a short advance can be expensive as a yearly rate. Work out the full cost before you confirm.
Quick comparison
| Name | Who it suits | Starting price | Free option | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Larger limits with optional tips | Free | Yes | Visit | |
| Advances tied to a checking account | Up to $5 per month | No | Visit | |
| Free standard delivery and higher limits with direct deposit | Free | Yes | Visit | |
| Chime members with direct deposit | Free | Yes | Visit | |
| Flat-fee advances from a bank account | $1.60 per advance | No | Visit | |
| Budgeting tools plus advances | $8.99 per month | No | Visit | |
| Advances up to $1,000 | See website | Yes | Visit | |
| Small advances at a fixed monthly price | $6.99 per month | No | Visit | |
| Raising your limit by earning points | Free | Yes | Visit |
The best cash advance apps
Cash advance apps let you pull part of your next paycheck forward and repay it automatically on payday. We compared each company's own pricing and disclosure pages and sorted the list by how clearly the costs are explained and how realistic the starting limits look. This is general information, not financial advice, and an advance is still money you owe.

EarnIn is the app we would check first if you want to avoid a monthly subscription. Its homepage says standard transfers carry no mandatory fees or interest, and tips are optional. The company calls Cash Out earned wage access, meaning you draw on pay you have already earned, with limits of up to $200 a day and $1,000 per pay period depending on eligibility.
Speed is where the cost shows up. A standard transfer takes one to three business days according to the homepage, while the optional Lightning Speed starts at $3.99. To qualify you verify your identity and employment, connect a bank account and show consistent earnings. The catch is that tips are optional but easy to add out of habit, so decide on an amount, or none, before you request.
- No mandatory fees or interest on standard transfers
- Cash Out limit up to $200 per day and $1,000 per pay period
- No credit check
- Lightning Speed delivery starts at $3.99
- Needs proof of consistent earnings

Dave's ExtraCash lists amounts from $25 to $500, and the footnote is blunt that few members qualify for $500. Eligibility comes from its CashAI system, which Dave says reviews more than 180 data points such as income, gig or irregular work, bank balance and spending patterns, with no credit check.
You must open an ExtraCash overdraft deposit account and a Dave Checking account, and Dave lists a membership fee of up to $5 a month. The advance carries an overdraft fee equal to the greater of $5 or 5% of the amount, plus an optional 1.5% fee for external debit card transfers. It suits gig workers with uneven income who are happy to run money through Dave Checking, and it suits a one-off advance poorly.
- ExtraCash from $25 up to $500
- No credit check or interest
- Typically authorized within 5 minutes
- Few members qualify for $500
- Monthly fee plus an overdraft-style fee

MoneyLion
Who it suits: Free standard delivery and higher limits with direct deposit

MoneyLion's Instacash starts at up to $500 and can rise to $1,000 if you become a MoneyLion Spend customer and set up qualifying recurring direct deposits. Delivery to your Spend account takes one to five business days at no cost, or it can be instant for an optional fee. The page calls that the Turbo Fee but does not show the amount, so check it in the app. The FAQ also notes a maximum of $100 per disbursement.
You can temporarily raise your limit by completing actions in the app, and Peer Boosts let you raise five friends' limits each month. Do not confuse Instacash with the separate MoneyLion One membership, listed at $9.99 a month (waived with at least $500 in eligible direct deposits in the prior 30 days). The basic advance does not require it.
- Instacash up to $500, and up to $1,000 with qualifying direct deposits
- No interest or credit check
- Free delivery in 1 to 5 business days
- Instant delivery needs a fee
- Higher limits need a MoneyLion Spend account
MyPay lives inside the Chime banking app, so it makes sense only if you use, or will open, a Chime account. Chime advertises up to $750, and its disclosures say eligible members may be offered $20 to $1,000 per pay period. The FAQ adds that most members start at $50 to $100.
The fees are easy to explain. Scheduled advances arriving within 24 hours have no fee, and instant delivery costs 3% of the advance with a $2 minimum and $5 maximum. You need a qualifying direct deposit of $200 or more within the previous 36 days and an activated physical Chime card. The honest downside is dependence: your paycheck has to go to Chime, and a small starting limit may not cover a bigger bill.
- Scheduled advances arrive within 24 hours at no fee
- Instant option is capped at $5
- No monthly service fees
- Requires a Chime account and a $200+ direct deposit
- Most members start with a small limit
Varo Advance is part of the Varo bank account. Its page says qualifying customers can borrow $20 to $250 on the day they open an account and build toward $700 by setting up direct deposits of $800 or more and repaying on time. Varo lists an average advance of $195.
Pricing is one flat fee per advance, which ranges from $1.60 to $100 depending on the amount, with no interest or late fees. You get 30 days to repay, longer than the next-payday window at most rivals, so compare the fee against the size and the time. It is best for people comfortable with an online-only bank, and less handy if you only want a quick advance while banking elsewhere.
- One flat fee and no interest
- 30 days to repay
- Advance available the day you open an account
- Fee can reach $100 on a large advance
- Needs a Varo bank account
Brigit pairs advances of $25 to $500 with budgeting tools under a monthly subscription that the site prices between $8.99 and $15.99. Maine is limited to $25 to $250, and the separate Credit Builder feature needs the $15.99 plan. Express Delivery is optional with a fee that the page does not state, and most users get it within 20 minutes.
One detail we liked: the footnotes say you can request a free advance without subscribing by emailing the address listed there, which is not obvious from the homepage. Brigit fits people who will actually use the budgeting features. If you only want the cash, the monthly fee is the main thing to weigh.
- Advances of $25 to $500 depending on eligibility
- No credit check
- Express Delivery usually within 20 minutes
- Subscription of $8.99 to $15.99 a month
- Not available in every state
Albert lists the highest ceiling in this group, with Instant Advance limits from $25 to $1,000 subject to eligibility, and a warning that few customers qualify for the top amount. The page states there are no late fees or interest and that availability is at Albert's discretion.
Its subscription plans range from $19.99 to $39.99 a month, yet the page says a subscription is not needed to use Instant Advance, so read what each plan adds before you pay. The page does not list a fee for instant delivery, so check the in-app price. Treat $1,000 as a ceiling, not a promise.
- Limits from $25 up to $1,000
- No late fees or interest
- Instant Advance does not require a subscription
- Few customers qualify for $1,000
- Subscription plans cost $19.99 to $39.99 a month
FloatMe is the smallest-ticket option here. Floats go up to $200, but first-time approvals range from $10 to $50, and the company says its average Float was $53 as of July 1, 2026. Membership costs $6.99 a month and renews until you cancel in the app, although the terms mention you can request a Float without paying a membership fee.
There is no interest and no credit check, and FloatMe says it does not report Float activity to the credit bureaus. Standard delivery is free and Instant Float carries a fee. It suits small gaps such as groceries or gas and a flat price. It is the wrong pick if you need a few hundred dollars right away, since limits grow slowly.
- Interest-free Floats up to $200
- Doesn't report Float activity to credit bureaus
- Standard delivery is always free
- First approvals are only $10 to $50
- Not available in Connecticut, Nevada or Washington DC
Klover offers advances from $25 to $750, averaging about $170 according to its own pages. You can raise your limit by earning points for surveys, receipt scans or invitations. Standard transfers are free and take two to five business days, while express delivery costs a small fee the site does not quantify.
Klover says it earns money from express fees, the optional Klover+ membership and partner arrangements described in its privacy policy, and its homepage mentions anonymized user data, so read the policy before linking your bank. It states its advances are non-recourse: no debt collector, credit bureau report or legal action for an unpaid balance, though an unpaid balance can pause new advances. Its pages show both $750 and $200 as the maximum, so confirm your own limit in the app.
- Advances of $25 to $750 with no credit check
- Standard transfers are free
- Non-recourse repayment terms
- Express transfers carry a fee
- Business model relies on data and optional membership
How we picked these
We looked only at apps that offer a cash advance or earned wage access to US users and have a working official website. For each one we read the company's own homepage, pricing or help pages for limits, fees, delivery times and requirements. Where a page did not state a price, such as the instant delivery fees at Brigit, MoneyLion, Albert and Klover, we say so instead of guessing.
We did not run these apps ourselves, so we make no hands-on claims. We ranked on how clearly costs are explained, how realistic the starting limits look, how much extra you pay for speed, and whether you can use the service without moving your whole paycheck. Advertised maximums are marketing, so we weighed starting limits and fees more heavily.
How to use a cash advance app without getting stuck
This is general information, not financial advice. An advance is money you must repay, and the cost adds up if you rely on it every pay period.
Work out the real cost
A flat fee sounds small, but advances are short. As a simple illustration, a $5 fee on a $100 advance repaid after 14 days works out to about 130% as a yearly rate. Subscriptions, tips and express fees all belong in that sum.
Watch for the repeat-borrowing trap
Most apps pull repayment from your bank account on payday, which can leave you short again next cycle. If you borrow every pay period, the app is covering a budget gap. Ask the biller about an extension or talk to a nonprofit credit counselor.
Check what you give up
Linking your bank shares your transaction history. Read the privacy policy, and check whether a direct deposit or new account is required and what happens if a payment fails.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best cash advance app?
It depends on your need. EarnIn and MoneyLion avoid a monthly subscription, Chime MyPay suits existing Chime users, and Albert lists the highest ceiling. Pick on total cost for the amount you need, not the biggest advertised limit.
Which cash advance apps have no credit check?
Dave, EarnIn, Brigit, MoneyLion, Chime MyPay, Varo, FloatMe and Klover all say they do not run a credit check for an advance. They still read your bank activity and income, so you can be declined.
What is the best app to borrow money instantly?
Brigit says most users get Express Delivery within 20 minutes, and Dave says ExtraCash is typically authorized within five minutes. Instant delivery usually costs extra, such as Chime's 3% fee capped at $5 or EarnIn's Lightning Speed from $3.99. Free standard delivery is slower.
Do cash advance apps hurt your credit score?
The apps say applying involves no credit check, and FloatMe and Klover say they do not report to the bureaus. Risk remains, though. An overdraft or failed repayment can still cause trouble, so read the repayment terms.
Can I get a larger advance over time?
Usually, but slowly. Chime, FloatMe and Klover say limits start small and rise with consistent deposits or repayment. Varo ties its $700 tier to direct deposits of $800 or more.
Sources we checked (13)
- https://www.earnin.com/
- https://www.dave.com/
- https://www.moneylion.com/
- https://www.moneylion.com/instacash/
- https://www.chime.com/mypay/
- https://www.varomoney.com/
- https://www.varomoney.com/cash-advance/
- https://hellobrigit.com/
- https://albert.com/
- https://www.floatme.io/
- https://www.klover.app/
- https://www.klover.app/faqs
- https://www.klover.app/cash-advance
Keep reading
All postsBest Term Life Insurance Companies
The best term life insurance companies in 2026: Ladder, Banner Life, State Farm, Northwestern Mutual and more, with term lengths, limits and how to buy.
Best Personal Loan Companies
Compare the best personal loan companies in 2026, including Discover, Wells Fargo, Upgrade, Best Egg and Avant, with APR ranges, fees, loan amounts and credit fit.
Best Insurance Companies
Which is the best insurance company for car coverage in 2026? Eight major insurers compared on discounts, driving programs, agents and J.D. Power results.







